Virgin Mobile Brand Phase Out FAQs
On May 30 2018 we announced the that the Virgin Mobile brand will be phased out by June 2020. On June 15 2018, we ceased the sale of all Virgin Mobile postpaid mobile and mobile broadband plans.
What happens to Virgin Mobile customers?
Customers who have signed for a 24 month commitment can continue to use their service as normal.
Customers who are close to finishing their commitment, or have no commitment, may be able to move to Optus right now and take advantage of the special plans they’ve created just for Virgin Mobile customers.
How do I know if I can move to Optus?
To see if you can make the move to Optus now, check out your upgrade status in My Account.
How do I move to Optus?
If your upgrade status in My Account shows that you are eligible to make the move, simply click “CHECK MY OFFER” to begin your journey.
If your upgrade status in My Account shows that you haven’t finished your commitment yet, then hang tight! You can continue to use your service as normal and we’ll be in touch with a great Optus offer further down the line.
What can I expect after I leave?
Your Final Bill
After you leave Virgin Mobile, we will send you a final bill that will include a pro-rata service charge.
Pro-rata is just a fancy way of saying that we’ll only charge you for the days that you had access to your service, i.e. if you spend a minimum of $50 per month on your service, but you decide to leave half-way through the month, we’ll only charge you $25 on your last bill.
For more information on your final bill, check out this article.
Your Credit Limit
After your number leaves Virgin Mobile, we reduce your Credit Limit to $0. This means that you may receive an email or SMS advising you that you have reached your Credit Limit.
Don't worry though, there's no need to contact us; just keep an eye out for your final bill.
For more information about the Credit Limit, check out this article.
Managing Your Account Online
After your service/s have left Virgin Mobile, you’ll no longer be able to access your account through our app in iOS or Android.
Don’t worry though, you can still log in to My Account here with your email address and password.
MBB and Prepaid FAQs:
When will my Virgin Mobile Prepaid service close?
The Virgin Mobile Prepaid service will close on 20 May 2020. That means you will no longer be able to use your Virgin Mobile Prepaid service past this date. The last time you can recharge your Virgin Mobile Prepaid service is on 20 April 2020, however, you can still use your service and remaining credit until 20 May 2020.
What if I still have credit remaining on my Virgin Mobile Prepaid Service after 20 May 2020?
If you have remaining credit left on your Virgin Mobile Prepaid service after the closure on 20 May 2020, your remaining balance will be refunded to you in the form of a cheque. Please ensure your name, mailing address and details are up to date in your My Account so that a cheque can be mailed to you.
What options are available to me if I still need a Prepaid Mobile Service?
To make sure you’re not without a mobile phone service after 20 May 2020, we think it’s worth checking out what our friends at Optus have to offer. Virgin Mobile already uses the Optus network, so you’ll have the option to port your number across to Optus if you choose.
To switch to an Optus Postpaid mobile phone Service call 13 63 69. If you would like to switch to an Optus Prepaid mobile phone service, you’ll need to grab an Optus Prepaid SIM from any Optus retail store or by going online.
When will my Virgin Mobile Broadband service close?
The Virgin Mobile Broadband service will close on 20 May 2020. You can use your mobile broadband up until this time. You will no longer be able to use the service after this time.
What options are available to me if I still need a Mobile Broadband Service?
To make sure you’re not without service after 20 May 2020, we think it’s worth heading over to our friends at Optus to check out what they have on offer as Virgin Mobile already uses the Optus Network.