What is Auto Data?

Auto Data automatically tops you up with an extra 1GB for $10 if you exceed your included data. Any unused Auto Data will roll over to the next month. Auto Data is available on all new Postpaid Phone, SIM and Mobile Broadband Plans.

How does it work?

1GB for $10 will automatically be applied to your service when you exceed your included data. Any unused data will rollover to next month only and will be used once the next month's data inclusion has been spent.

How do I know if I have it on my service?

If you exceed your included data, 1GB will be added to your service and a $10 charge will be applied.  You will see this charge as “1GB Auto Data Charge” in the Services tab under “One off Charges”.

Screenshot showing Auto Data on the Current Charges screen in My Account

Will you notify me when you apply the charge?

Yes, we will send you an SMS once we apply the 1GB to your service which reads, “Hi, you've used all your data this month, so we've given you 1GB Auto Data to use in Oz for $10. More info @ http://virg.in/autodata Contact us @ virg.co/info”

How can I tell that you've applied it to my service?

You will see Auto Data as a Data Pack on your service. If you already have a Data Pack, you will see the total value increase by 1GB:

Screenshot showing Auto Data on the Summary tab of the app

Screenshot showing Auto Data on the Data tab of the app
 
I'm on the last few days of my bill cycle, why can't I just pay for what I use?

Extra data is charged by the GB on our new Postpaid mobile plans. Any unused Auto Data will roll over to the next month.

Will you still send me usage alerts?

We sure will.  You will continue to receive usage alerts at approximately 50%, 85% and 100% of your usage. You may receive these notices more than once if Auto Data is applied to your service as your data balance will increase changing your overall data allowance.

For example: you have 5GB of included data. You will receive your standard usage alerts at approximately 2.5GB (50%), 4.25GB (85%) and 5GB (100%). Once you exceed 5GB usage, we'll send you an SMS to let you know that we've added 1GB Auto Data to your service.  This will take your total data to 6GB. You will receive an 85% usage alert when you reach approximately 5.1GB and then another at 100% if you reach/exceed 6GB.

Can I turn it off and be charged on a per MB basis?

Unfortunately not, extra data is charged by the GB on our new postpaid plans. Any unused Auto Data will roll over to the next month.

Looking for something else?

SEARCH